Library Board

The Perth & District Union Public Library Board is made up of nine members, three from each of our three supporting municipalities. The Town of Perth and the Townships of Drummond/North Elmsley and Tay Valley each appoint one municipal councillor and two lay members to the library board for the four-year council term.

Board members are responsible for policy and funding decisions related to the library, as well as for hiring the CEO. The role of the board is governed by the Public Libraries Act, an Ontario provincial statute.

Board Meetings

The library board meets the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the library's meeting room. There are no meetings in July or August. Meetings are open to the public. If you would like to speak at the library board meeting, please contact Acting CEO/Chief Librarian Julie Hansen at (613) 267-1224 or to arrange a delegation. Delegations are limited to 10 minutes.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Perth & District Union Public Library Board (2019-2022)

Brock McPherson, Councillor, Town of Perth

Cathy James, Town of Perth | (613) 812-2255

J.E. Michael Smith, Town of Perth |

John Matheson, Councillor, Drummond/North Elmsley

Susan Murray, Drummond/North Elmsley |

Ted Parkinson, Drummond/North Elmsley
(613) 326-0454

Rob Rainer, Councillor, Tay Valley Township | (613) 314-7755

Carol Rigby, Tay Valley Township | (613) 268-2946

Dawn Palmer, Tay Valley Township | (613) 267-3690

Lynn Marsh, Secretary-Treasurer | (613) 464-2559

Julie Hansen, Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) | (613) 267-1224